Welcome to Department of Chemistry


Chemistry, a branch of physical science, is the study of the composition, properties and change of matter. French Chemist, Antoni Lavoesie is the father of modern Chemistry. We have got some world famous Chemists who laid the foundation of Chemistry in our country and made the subject attractive. In this connection we remember with respect Dr. Kudrat-E-Khuda, Prof. Mokarram Hossain Khundoker, Prof. Ali Nawab, Prof. S. Z. Haider, Prof. Mofiz Uddin Ahmed, Dr. Fazlul Halim Chowdhary, Dr. Mesbahuddin Ahmed, Dr. Syed Safiullah and Prof. Abu Saleh.

The century old Rajshahi College founded in 1873 has been playing an active role in the development of educational, social and political culture of the people of this subcontinent. Chemistry Department is its pride. Chemistry is one of the important discipline of this institution where students are awaraded graduation and post graduation degrees. Moreover, Chemistry is a compulsory subject for the students of science group in the higher secondary class. [Read more…]

Present Teachers’ List

SL Teachers’ Name Designation Date of joining
01. Dr. Md. Serajul Islam (4371) Professor 30/07/2017
02. Md. Hossen Ali (5856) Associate Professor 05/09/2016
03. Dr. Rezina Akhter Banu (4372) Associate Professor 09/11/2014
04. Associate Professor
05. Md Jahangir Ali (12653) Assistant Professor 21/07/2007
06. Dr. Brazendranath Sarkar (12601) Assistant Professor 10/12/2003
07. Md Mizanur Rahman (17875) Assistant Professor 11/02/2016
08. Shabnam Sultana (13769) Assistant Professor (Attachment) 22/10/2013
09. Md. Ehsanul Haque (17827) Assistant Professor 12/11/2016
10. Md Abdus Samad (15811) Lecturer 08/02/2010
11. Md. Harunur Rashid (22226)Assistant Professor Lecturer 12/12/2012
12. Md. Shakilur Zaman Shakil (25970) Lecturer 05/09/2016
13. Demonstrator
14. Demonstrator
View all

শিক্ষা নিয়ে গড়ব দেশ
শেখ হাসিনার বাংলাদেশ


Head of the Department

Professor Dr. Md. Serajul Islam

At a Glance

B.Sc (Hon’s) Course first Started 1878
First Muslim Hon’s degree obtained student Sayed Abdus Salek (1887)
M.Sc. Course in Chemistry started 1895
First M.Sc. degree obtained student Shree N.N. Lahiry (1895)
First Muslim Professor Sayed Abdus Salek (1892)
First demonstrator Babu Birendra Bhusan Adhicary (1912)
First Ph.D Degree Holder Teacher Dr. M. A . Sobur (1946)
No of Teachers At Present 12

Photo Gallery

Contact Us

Contact Information

Phone Number: +88 0721 775233
E-mail: rc1873chem@gmail.com

Official Facebook page for this department

February 2018

Updated on: 24/02/2018