Welcome to Department of Physics


Rajshahi College was established in 1873. The Department of Physics is on of the famous Department in this College.On 1st April of that year, 1st Year and 2nd Year F.A (First Arts) classes started with only 6 students, which continued up to 1908. In 1909, I.Sc. course started.

After having permission in 1877, B.Sc. classes started in Rajshahi College in 1878. According to the sources available, Honours courses started in some of the departments even before 1887. Though Masters Course was initiated in 1893, the permission of running the course was withdrawn in 1909 However, later in 1993 under National University, Masters Course started again.

Though the exact date of the inception of Physics Department at Rajshahi College is unknown, in the light of various available sources, it can be deduced that Physics as a subject was there since the foundation of the college. It is traced out that a student named Syed Abdus Salek achieved Honours degree with distinction from Physics and Chemistry (in those days these two subjects were one) According to available data, in 1912-13 session the number of students having Physics subject was 138; the number of Intermediate students was 86 B.A (Pass Course) students 41, and B.Sc (Pass Course & Honours Students 11. In that session number of teachers was 2 and demonstrators 2. In 1912-13 session Teachers of Physics were Babu Bala Charan Bhattacharya and the then Principal Kumudinikanta Banerjee Bahadur, who is considered the architech of Rajshahi College. He was a Professor of Physics. At his endeavor, the present Physics building was established. After 1930 many famous personalities worked as teachers in this department, of whom some notables are: H C Ganguly (1934), Moulavi Aftabuddin Ahmed, Dr. Abdullah Al-Muti Sarfuddin, Dr. Sadaruddin Ahmed Chowdhury, Dr. Mokbular Rahman. Sarkar. [Read more…]

Present Teachers’ List

SL Teachers’ Name Designation Date of joining
01. Md. Ali Ahmed Khan (0086) Professor 16/09/2017
02. Dr. Md. Nazim Uddin (5371) Associate Professor 24/04/2016
03. Md. Alauddin (008822) Associate Professor 09/11/2014
04. Md. Mahafuz Hasan (9059) Associate Professor 01/11/2016
05. Md. Tazemul Haque (10679) Assistant Professor 25/05/2010
06. Joy Kumar Das (12651) Assistant Professor 20/10/2012
07. Mostafa Nasirul Azam (14525) Assistant Professor 16/11/2016
08. Md. Abdul Momin (15884) Assistant Professor 16/11/2016
09. Md. Barik Mridha (23031) Lecturer 13/06/2015
10. Jesmine Ferdaus (25905) Lecturer 24/05/2016
11. Md. Mizanur Rahman Mithu (16134128032) Lecturer 01/06/2016
12. Mst. jannati Akhtar (25925) Lecturer ?
13. Demonstrator
14. Demonstrator
View all

শিক্ষা নিয়ে গড়ব দেশ
শেখ হাসিনার বাংলাদেশ


Head of the Department

Md. Ali Ahmed Khan

Professor Md. Ali Ahmed Khan

At a Glance

Started as B.Sc. Degree Course 1878
Started as Honors’ Course 1887
Started as Masters Course 1893
Started as I.Sc. Course 1909
Started as Masters Course under National University 1993
Number of Teachers 13
Number of Students Approximately 1600

Photo Gallery

Contact Us

Contact Information

Phone Number: +88 0721 775225
E-mail: rc1873physics@gmail.com

Official Facebook page for this department

February 2018

Updated on: 24/02/2018