Welcome to Department of Social Work

Responsive image

Department of Social Work was introduced in 1972 with B.S.S (Pass) course. The founder chairman was Professor Mrs. Ayesha Khatun, who was also the principal of Noagoan Govt. College in 2002. Higher Secondary course was introduced in 1988. With the demand of time M.S.S course was introduced in 1996 here under the National University. The 4-year B.S.S (Hons.) course was started in 2006. The number of students is about 2500. Now 12 talented and devoted teachers are working in this department.

Social Work is a professional and academic discipline that seeks to improve the quality of life and wellbeing of an individual, group, or community by intervening through research, policy, practice and teaching on behalf of those afflicted with poverty or any social injustices and violations of their human rights. Social Work, as an interdisciplinary field, includes theories from economics, education, sociology, medicine, philosophy, politics, psychology etc.

Social Workers help people to overcome their psycho-social problems and make their lives better. Social Work department is committed to change its students in skilled Social Workers and human resources to face the challenges of 21st century of the world.

Present Teachers’ List

SL Teachers’ Name Designation Date of joining
01. Dr. Zubaida Ayesha Siddika (4378) Professor 15/10/2014
02. Abdullah Al Mahmud (6124) Associate Professor 13/05/2015
03. Ashesh Basak (4377) Associate Professor 10/06/2017
04. Md. Monirul Islam (4671) Associate Professor 18/01/2017
05. Md. Sanaullah (13228) Assistant Professor 11/10/2012
06. Md. Islam Uddin (12744) Assistant Professor 14/11/2012
07. Dr. Md. Abdur Rahaman (15172) Assistant Professor 15/05/2013
08. Md. Nazmul Haque (021793) Assistant Professor 15/11/2016
09. Nandita Chakrabarti (22432) Lecturer 20/08/2013
10. Md. Rostam Ali (23564) Lecturer 25/01/2015
11. Md. Kamruzzaman Sarker (23798) Lecturer 05/02/2017
12. Mahmuda Akhter (16134144010) Lecturer 13/04/2017
View all